Skip to main content

Save Yourself from this Scam

· 2 min read
Kaustubh Kulkarni

Dear Readers,

I usually only write about programming or related topics, but today I'm writing this article to inform you about a new scam that scammers are doing. This happened to me and I want you to be aware of it. I'm sharing my experience below.

  • If you read carefully you can earn up to 150 rupees from the scammer instead of losing money to them. 😁 I will explain in detail.

  • I received a video call from the number +84 56 278 0340 on WhatsApp, but as I work with some foreign clients, I thought it might be one of them, so I messaged "who's this?" instead of answering the call.

  • The person on the other end said that they work for YouTube and pay people to perform small tasks. They asked me to click on a YouTube link they provided, like the video, and send a screenshot. They said they would pay me 150 rupees for this.

Knowing about this type of scam beforehand, I checked the YouTube link and opened it in a private window and sent them a screenshot.

Then, they messaged me on Telegram and asked for my account details. I provided them with a virtual account number and IFSC code. I did not give them any other information.

They then sent me 150 rupees, thinking that they had successfully scammed me. 🤣

Then I blocked them!

That's the end of the story.

NOTE : Above steps are not advised. Please read only for information, don't try.